On the site of the present Drapers’ Hall, once part of the Augustinian Priory, Thomas Cromwell built his palace in the 1530s. After his execution, the property was purchased by the Guild of Drapers in 1543 from Henry VIII.
Destroyed by the Great Fire of 1666, Drapers’ Hall was rebuilt between 1667 and 1671 to designs by Edward Jarman. In 1772, it was again rebuilt after a fire which did considerable damage and, in the 1860s, the frontage was changed and the interior altered by Herbert Williams. It was later altered once more in 1898-9 by Sir Thomas Graham Jackson.
Today, Drapers' Hall is one of the most lavishly decorated historic interiors in London and a must-see for anyone interested in the history of the City of London and its livery companies.
This walking tour is a rare opportunity for the public to see inside Drapers' Hall.